How do I delete a message from a Conversation?

Canvas recently introduced a new page design called the New Canvas User Interface (UI). This lesson may include two images for specific steps to show the difference between the two designs. Unless otherwise indicated, the functionality and location of the components remain the same. The view available to you is determined by your institution.

You can delete individual messages within a Conversation in Canvas.

Open Inbox

Open Inbox

In the Help Corner, click the Inbox link.

Open Inbox in New Canvas UI

Open Inbox in New Canvas UI

If you are using the New Canvas User Interface (UI), in Global Navigation, click the Inbox link.

Select Conversation

Select Conversation

Select the conversation.

Select Message

Select the message you want to delete inside the Conversation by locating the settings icon underneath the timestamp.

Note: You can only select one message to delete at a time.

Delete Message

Delete Message

Click the Delete link to delete your message.

Confirm Deletion

Confirm Deletion

Click the OK button to delete the message.

Note: You can only delete your copy of the message. You cannot delete the message for all recipients.