What are Collaborations?
Canvas leverages Google Docs technology to allow multiple users (up to 50 collaborators) to work together on the same document at the same time. Collaborative documents are saved in real-time, meaning a change made by any of its users will be immediately visible to everyone.
Note: Google Docs allows you to add up to 50 users per collaboration, and all users can view and edit a document at the same time. However, Google collaborations has a limit as to the number of users who can access a collaboration at any time. Learn more about creating a Google Collaboration.
When would I use Collaborations?
You can use Collaborations to:
- Copy and paste lecture notes that everyone can access.
- Share with your students bullet-point lists or agendas for upcoming synchronous class time or meetings.
- Create a text-based whiteboard that everyone in the classroom can see and refer to later.
- Assign student groups a collaborative assignment. Require them to turn in the URL as a graded Assignment.
- Note: As an instructor, if you want to create a document for a certain group, create it within the group.