How do I customize my Course list?

Canvas recently introduced a new page design called the New Canvas User Interface (UI). This lesson may include two images for specific steps to show the difference between the two designs. Unless otherwise indicated, the functionality and location of the components remain the same. The view available to you is determined by your institution.

When you are enrolled in more than one Canvas course, you can customize the active courses you want to show in your Course list. Courses you want to show in the Courses drop-down menu are called favorite courses. You can favorite any published course that appears in the My Courses section on the course list page.

When no courses are favorited, the courses list automatically displays up to 12 courses alphabetically in the drop-down menu.

Note: Courses are always listed alphabetically; you cannot reorder your courses manually.

Open Courses

Open Courses

In Global Navigation, click the Courses link [1], then click the All Courses link [2].

Open Courses in Legacy UI

Open Courses in Legacy UI

If you are using the legacy interface, in Global Navigation, click the Courses link [1], then click the View All or Customize link [2].

Manage Courses

Manage Courses

Click the star next to a course to add or remove the course from the Courses list. Courses with yellow stars indicate a favorite course and are included in the Courses and Groups drop-down menu. You can toggle the stars to favorite or unfavorite a course. You can only favorite current courses.

Your favorite courses will appear in your Courses list after you make your selection(s).

Note: Some institutions do not allow you to view future (unpublished) courses. You will only see future courses in the course list if the start date is in the future, you have been enrolled in the course, and your institution allows you to view future enrollments.

View Unpublished Courses

View Unpublished Courses

If a course is unpublished, students cannot favorite the course [1]. Students can hover over a star icon for an unpublished or concluded course and view a message indicating that the course cannot be added as a favorite [2]. However, instructors can favorite unpublished courses.

View Past Enrollments

View Past Enrollments

Depending on course configuration, some favorited courses may still display the favorite icon even after the course has ended. If a past enrollment course shows the favorite icon, users can unfavorite the course by toggling the star icon.