Canvas Guides (en)Canvas Instructor Guide ConferencesHow do I use the multi-user whiteboard in a conference as a presenter?

How do I use the multi-user whiteboard in a conference as a presenter?

The multi-user whiteboard feature helps users engage in the presentation. This feature can also benefit users participating in a tutoring session or study group.

As a presenter, you can enable the multi-user whiteboard for users at any time. When enabled, users can view the toolbar options and contribute to the whiteboard.

Enable Multi-User Whiteboard

Enable Multi-User Whiteboard

In the Presentation window, hover over the presentation to view the toolbar. Click the Multi-User Drawing button. The button will display two overlapping squares in the image.

View Presentation Toolbar

View Presentation Toolbar

In the Presentation window, hover over the presentation to view the toolbar. In the whiteboard, you can create annotations using the pencil [1], rectangle [2], rectangle [3], circle [4], triangle [5], line [6], or text tools [7].

You can also change the color of your annotations [7] and change the thickness of your annotations [8].

Clear or Undo Annotations

View Presentation Toolbar

You can also use the toolbar to clear all your annotations [1] or undo the last annotation [2]. The last annotation icon will undo each annotation one at a time.

View Multi-User WhiteBoard

View Multi-User WhiteBoard

You can use any of the options in the toolbar and add them directly to the whiteboard. Your name displays next to any annotations you create in the whiteboard [1]. You can also view the names of other contributors in the whiteboard [2].

When using the multi-user whiteboard, you are contributing annotations in the same space as others, but no one is able to modify, change, or delete another person's annotations. Clearing all annotations or undoing an annotation only affects your annotations.

Note: The presenter is able to clear all annotations for all users.

Disable Multi-User WhiteBoard

Disable Multi-User WhiteBoard

To disable the multi-user whiteboard, click the Multi-User Drawing button. The button will return to a single square in the image.

Clear Multi-User WhiteBoard

Clear Multi-User WhiteBoard

To clear all annotations from the whiteboard, click the Clear All Annotations icon.