Canvas GuidesCanvas Student Guide People and GroupsHow do I leave a group as a student?

How do I leave a group as a student?

If you are able to join a group in your course, you can leave the group at any time. You cannot leave groups that are not self sign-up groups.

When a course is concluded, all associated groups will be shown as previous groups in your groups list.

Open People

Open People

In Course Navigation, click the People link.

View Groups

View Groups

Click the Groups tab.

View Groups in Settings Menu

You can also access your User Groups in the Settings menu. Click the Settings icon [1] and click the View User Groups link [2].

Leave Group

Leave Group

Next to the name of an available group, click the Leave link.

Verify Group Removal

Verify Group Removal

A message appears at the top of your browser verifying you left the group.