Canvas GuidesCanvas Admin Guide LanguagesWhat languages does Canvas support?

What languages does Canvas support?

Language preferences can be set by the user, by the instructor in a specific course, or by the admin for the entire account. However, depending on the Canvas area, some language preferences can be overridden.

If no language is set, Canvas defaults to English (United States).

Canvas supports the following languages:

  • English—United States
  • Danish
  • German
  • English—Australia
  • English—United Kingdom
  • Spanish
  • French
  • Haitian Creole
  • Dutch
  • Norwegian—Bokmål
  • Norwegian—Nynorsk (crowd-sourced)
  • Polish
  • Portuguese
  • Portuguese—Brazil
  • Maori
  • Swedish
  • Turkish (crowd-sourced)
  • Russian
  • Armenian (crowd-sourced)
  • Hebrew (crowd-sourced)
  • Arabic
  • Persian (crowd-sourced)
  • Japanese
  • Chinese—simplified
  • Chinese—traditional
  • Korean (crowd-sourced)

Developing Languages

Developing Languages

To help support additional languages more quickly, Canvas built the Canvas Translation Community. This is a community of developers who volunteer to help update language code for Canvas. The Canvas Translation Community shows all the current languages in development and how close they are to being completed. If you or someone you know would like to help with language translation, visit the Canvas Translation Community page for more information.