How do I prevent students from switching groups in self sign-up Groups?

When self sign-up is enabled for a group, instructors are unable to prevent students from switching groups. However, as an instructor, you can turn off the self sign-up at any time.

View People

View People

In Course Navigation, click the People link.

View User Groups

At the top of the People page, click the View User Groups button or an existing group set.

Edit Group

Edit the group by clicking the Settings icon [1], then click the Edit link [2].

Turn Off Self Sign-up

Turn Off Self Sign-up

Deselect the Allow self sign-up checkbox to turn off the self sign-up [1]. By turning off the self sign-up, you prevent students from switching groups. Click the Save button [2].