How do I use the Announcements Index Page?

Canvas recently introduced a new page design called the New Canvas User Interface (UI). Depending on your Canvas view, your page design may vary from the images shown in this lesson. However, the functionality and location of the components remain the same.

You can view all your course announcements in the Announcements Index Page. As an instructor, you can also create announcements and modify announcement settings.

Open Announcements

Open Announcements

In Course Navigation, click the Announcements link.

View Announcements Index Page

The Announcements Index page is designed with global settings at the top of the page [1], followed by the individual announcements [2].

View Announcements Global Settings

Global settings include searching for an announcement [1] and filtering unread announcements [2]. You can also view the announcements RSS feed [3], add a new announcement [4], and add an external feed [5].

View Announcements

View Announcements

Announcements are listed in reverse chronological order with the newest appearing first and the older Announcements appearing towards the bottom.

Each announcement includes the name of the announcement [1], the name of the person who posted the announcement [2], whether a discussion has an enabled podcast feed [3], the last announcement post/reply date [4], and the number of unread/total replies in the announcement [5].

If an announcement doesn't include a name and/or user image, the announcement has been copied from a previous course import.

Manage Announcements

Manage Announcements

To apply a bulk action, such as locking or deleting, click the checkbox next to the announcement [1]. To close all selected announcements to comments, click the Lock button [2]. To delete all selected announcements, click the Delete button [3].

Manage Individual Announcements

Manage Individual Announcements

To view an announcement, click the name of the announcement [1].

To close or delete the announcement, click the Settings icon [2] and select the Close for Comments link [3] or Delete link [4].