How do I allow students to edit and delete their own Discussion posts?

You can allow students to edit and delete their own Discussion posts by changing the course settings. Settings are available in the Discussions Page or the Course Settings Page.

Note: This setting does not apply to group discussions.  

Discussions Page Settings

Discussions Page Settings

In Course Navigation, click the Discussions link.

Open Settings Icon

Open Settings Icon

Click the Settings icon to open Discussion settings.

Edit Discussion Settings

Edit Discussion Settings

Make sure you mark the Edit and delete their own posts checkbox.

Note: Unchecking this option will restrict students from editing and deleting their own Discussion posts. This permission affects posts in new discussion topics, discussion replies, and discussions within course groups.

Course Settings

Course Settings

You can also change the Discussions permissions in the Course Settings.

In Course Navigation, click the Settings link.

View Course Details

View Course Details

View course details.

Select More Options

Select More Options

Click the More Options link.

Allow Students to Edit or Delete Discussion Posts

Allow Students to Edit or Delete Discussion Posts

Make sure you mark the Let students edit or delete their own discussion posts checkbox.

Update Course Details

Update Course Details

Click the Update Course Details button.