Recent Updates

  • You can move students within groups. However, changes should be made before assigning a group to an assignment.

    If a student is added or removed from a group after receiving submissions, the submissions and grades may not align correctly. If a student is added to a group after the group submission, any re-submissions will overwrite the original submission; all previous grades will remain but the Gradebook will show the assignment was resubmitted since last graded. If you want to move a group member with a graded submission, you may want to clone the group set instead.

  • As an instructor, you can manually add students to a group in both published and unpublished courses.

  • When self sign-up is enabled for a group, instructors are unable to prevent students from switching groups. However, as an instructor, you can turn off the self sign-up at any time. By turning off the self sign-up, you prevent students from switching groups.

  • Once you create groups in a group set, you can randomly automatically assign students to those groups.

  • When creating an automated data integration with Canvas, you should practice using the API to import SIS data to Canvas. One method of using an API is through cURL, a command line tool for transferring data that is supported on all operating systems (Windows, Linux, and OSX). In this lesson, examples should work with Windows 7+, Windows Server 2003+, Ubuntu 12+ (Desktop/Server), and OSX Mountain Lion+.

    The examples in this lesson are provided to help you learn how to practice using the API to import content into Canvas using SIS imports.

  • When creating an automated data integration with Canvas, you need to create a script to automatically import data to Canvas. An SIS script automatically synchronizes the users in your institution with your Canvas account. This lesson presents programming languages and other considerations when creating a script file.  

  • Updated on: Oct 21, 2020

    How do I view groups in an account?

    You can view existing groups in your account. Viewing groups at the account level is similar to viewing groups at the course level. The groups created at the account level will still show up in the Groups menu in the Global Navigation menu.

  • If your account has enabled profile pictures for your users, you can manage all profile pictures for your account. Profile pictures are public and automatically approved when users upload an image in their settings. Using profile pictures can make it easier to see the users in your account and managing them gives you the ability to keep the pictures appropriate.

    If a user has a Gravatar and chooses not to upload a profile picture, the Gravatar will show up.

    If a student views another student's user details in a course and reports a profile picture as inappropriate, you can review those profile pictures and approve, lock, or delete the picture. In the courses, instructors can remove profile pictures completely from a user's details page.