How do I move a student into a different group?

You can move students within groups. However, changes should be made before assigning a group to an assignment.

If a student is added or removed from a group after receiving submissions, the submissions and grades may not align correctly. If a student is added to a group after the group submission, any re-submissions will overwrite the original submission; all previous grades will remain but the Gradebook will show the assignment was resubmitted since last graded. If you want to move a group member with a graded submission, you may want to clone the group set instead.

Open People

Open People

In Course Navigation, click the People link.

Open Group Set

Click the Settings icon [1], then click the View User Groups link [2]. Or click an existing group set [3].

Move Student via Drag and Drop

Move Student via Drag and Drop

Expand the group and find the student you want to move. Click the student's name and drag it to another group.

Move Student via User Settings

Move Student via User Settings

You can also click the student name Settings icon [1] and select the Move To... link [2].

Move To and Save

Canvas will display all available groups. Click the name of the group [1] then click the Save button [2].

View Groups

View Groups

Verify the student has been moved to a different group.