Canvas Guides (en)Canvas Instructor Guide GroupsHow do I prevent students from switching groups in self sign-up groups?

How do I prevent students from switching groups in self sign-up groups?

When self sign-up is enabled for a group, instructors are unable to prevent students from switching groups. However, as an instructor, you can turn off the self sign-up at any time. By turning off the self sign-up, you prevent students from switching groups.

Open People

Open People

In Course Navigation, click the People link.

Open Group Set

Click the name of the group set.

Edit Group Set

Click the group set Options menu [1], then click the Edit link [2].

Save Group Set

Save Group Set

Deselect the Allow self sign-up checkbox [1]. Click the Save button [2].