How do I edit sections for an enrollment in a course?
Once users have been added to your course, you may be able to edit their course section from the People page. This feature allows you to make modifications to course sections without having to delete the section enrollment.
If a user has not already accepted the course enrollment, editing the course section still requires the user to accept the course invitation. However, if a user has already accepted the initial course enrollment, editing a section does not require the user to accept a new course invitation.
If a user was added to multiple sections in the course with the same user role, adding a section or editing a current section retains the user role given with the course enrollment. However, if the user has multiple user roles, a section edit is associated with the last user role given to the user. Learn how to edit user roles.
- If you add a student to a course that is not active, the student may be able to see the course listed in his or her Future Enrollment courses. However, the student cannot access the course until it has been published. Other user roles added to the course may be able to access the course based on term access dates.
- Adding users to a section is a course permission. If you cannot add users to your course, your institution has restricted this feature.
- Sections may be added by your institution's student information system (SIS). If a user in your course includes an SIS ID, you may not have permission to edit sections.
To view user details, locate the name of the user . In high-enrollment courses, you can more easily find a single user by searching in the search bar  or filtering by role using the Role drop-down menu .
Hover over the user's name and click the Settings icon . Select the Edit Sections  link.