How do I edit user roles in a course?
Once users have been added to your course, you may be able to edit the enrollment type for a user in the course through the People page. This feature allows you to make modifications to course enrollment types without having to delete the existing enrollment. Role edits do not require the user to accept a new course invitation.
If a user was added to the course with multiple roles, selecting a new role overwrites all the user's current enrollments with the new edited role. If a user is enrolled in multiple sections, the edited role applies to all sections.
- If an observer is linked to a student, you cannot edit an observer role. Learn how to manage linked students.
- Enrollments may be added by your institution's student information system (SIS). If an enrollment includes an SIS ID, you cannot edit an enrollment in the course. Additionally, editing a user role is a course permission. If you cannot edit user roles in your course, your institution has restricted this feature.
Click the user's Settings icon , then select the Edit Role link .
Edit Course Role
Click the Role drop-down menu , then select the new role for the user .
Note: Depending on your user permissions, you may not be able to select from all user roles in your course.