Recent Updates

  • Updated on: Jul 21, 2021

    How do I set a course format?

    You can set the format for a course in Course Settings. Course format shows whether the course is intended to be an on-campus course, a online course, or a blended course. Blended courses can sometimes be called hybrid courses, but the interpretation can be defined by your institution.

    For admins, currently course format reporting can only be accessed through the Courses API.

  • If your course supports Multiple Grading Periods, you can use grading periods created by your Canvas admin. Grading periods consist of a specific date range that define the grading period, including the close date when you are no longer allowed to edit grades in the grading period. Grading periods may also be weighted.

    However, the dates of each grading period can only be viewed as part of the Grading Schemes page. You may need to view the grading period dates to view how your admin has defined the grading periods.

    You can only edit grades in a current or future grading period. Once the close date for a grading period has passed, you cannot edit grades for the prior grading period. The close date may be the same date as the end date, or may extend past the end date.

  • A grading scheme is a set of criteria that measures varying levels of achievement in a course. Course-level grading schemes are grading schemes that can be defined at both the course level and the assignment level. Without a grading scheme, scores are not measured against any specific standard.

    You can enable a grading scheme created by your institution, or you can add a new grading scheme specific to your course.

    View a video about Grading Schemes.

  • Instructors can hide totals in students' grade summaries. By default, totals are visible to students. For courses using weighted assignment groups, assignment group totals are also hidden from students.

    If your course is using Multiple Grading Periods, this setting restricts students from viewing grades in any grading period, even if the Display Totals for All Grading Periods feature option is enabled.

  • If your Canvas admin has enabled self enrollment for your institution, you can enable self enrollment in your course. Self-enrollment allows a student to sign up for a course using a secret URL or code. Self-enrollment can be enabled for a course whether or not the course is publicly visible.

    Note: If you cannot view the options for self enrollment, your admin has disabled this setting for your institution.

  • Updated on: Jul 21, 2021

    How do I reset course content?

    If you have permission as an instructor, you can reset course content with your course Settings in Canvas. However, resetting course content permanently removes all content and it cannot be recovered.

    When you reset course content, you reset all content in the course including:

    • Course ID—external URLs will no longer direct back to the course unless they are manually changed
    • LTI tools added at the course level

     

    Course details and enrollments will remain intact within your course. Following the content reset, your course will no longer appear in the Dashboard and must be viewed through the Courses Menu in Global Navigation.

    Note: If you cannot reset course content, this feature has been restricted by your institution.

  • By default, the content you create in your course is considered copyrighted and private. However, if you want to make your course available to others for reuse, you can set a Creative Commons license for your course that specifies how you will let others copy, distribute, or display your work. The benefit of using Creative Commons licenses is that other instructors can use and build and improve upon your own content. This sort of creative collaboration can add value to your curriculum. You can reuse other users' content if it has a Creative Commons license.

    Licenses range from restrictive use to public domain. If you are not sure what type of license you need, learn more about Creative Commons licensing. While setting a license, you can also use the Help icon to determine which type of Creative Commons license is best for you. You can change your course license at any time.

    You can set a license for both private and public courses. Learn how to make your course available to users through course visibility options.

    Note: If you are using Canvas Commons, the license you select for your course is not associated with the content license set for a shared resource.

  • You can enable an existing grading scheme for your course by editing your Course Settings. If you need to change your course grading scheme at any time, you can manage the grading schemes and find a new scheme.

    If you want to disable grading schemes for your entire course, you can deselect the grading scheme checkbox in Course Settings and your course will no longer be associated with a grading scheme. If you choose to use a grading scheme at a later time, you will have to re-enable a grading scheme.

    Notes:

    • In a course export, the enabled course grading scheme is copied as the default grading scheme.
    • Using an account-level grading scheme built by your institution links the scheme into your course—it does not import as a new scheme on the course level. If you have permission to manage grading schemes, note that modifying the account scheme in your course will also modify it for the entire institution.
  • As an Admin, you can choose to set default restrictions for student access in your institution. These restrictions include student access to courses before the start date and/or after the end date.

    To manage student access, you can set the default value but allow instructors and sub-account admins to edit access for the course and sub-account levels as necessary, or you can set and lock the student access setting for the entire institution. The checkbox settings at the account level are passed to the sub-account and course levels as default values.

    Restrict students from viewing course before start date: When a student enrolls in a future course, the course displays in the Future Enrollments section in the student Courses list. Once a course is published, the course displays an invitation to join the course, where the students can view course content at any time before the course begins. However, when the student restriction for the course start date is enabled, students cannot view a link to the course until the start date, even if the course is published.

    Restrict students from viewing future courses in enrollments list: When a student enrolls in a future course, the course displays in the Future Enrollments section in the student Courses list. However, when the view courses before the start date restriction is enabled, a second option is displayed to completely remove the future enrollment from the Courses list. This setting can also be enabled to keep students from knowing they are enrolled in a course with a future start date.

    Restrict students from viewing course after end date: Once a course has concluded, students can still view the course but all content is displayed in a read-only state. However, when the student restriction for the course end date is enabled, students can no longer view the course in the Courses list after the course has concluded. This setting can be used if your institution uses the course across multiple terms and want to restrict students from accessing prior content for future students, or if students have to re-enroll in the course.

    These restriction settings also apply to the override start and end dates for the course. If no override dates are specified, the start and end dates apply to the term dates. Learn more about term and course dates in Canvas.