Recent Updates

  • You can add a section to your course by editing your course Settings in Canvas. Sections help subdivide students within a course and offer section-specific options such as varied due dates for assignments, discussions, and quizzes.

    Sections can also be created for students who need extra time in a course, such as if a student has an incomplete grade.

    Note: Sections may be added by your institution's student information system (SIS). Some course sections may have already been created for you.

  • Once you delete a course, the course will be completely removed from your institution's account and will not be viewable by you, prior students, or the account administrator. We do not recommend deleting courses, especially if the course contains content and student data because you may need to access that information a later date.

    If you only want to remove the course from Courses & Groups in the Global Navigation, you can change the course end date, or if you have permission, conclude your course instead.

    Notes:

    • Before you delete your course, make sure you have a record of your Course ID number. Administrators can restore deleted courses if they know the Course ID number. You can locate your Course ID number at the end of your course URL (i.e. canvas.instructure.com/courses/XXXXXX).
    • Deleting a course is a course permission for manually created courses only. If the Permanently Delete this Course button does not appear in Course Settings and your course was not generated through a student information system (SIS), this setting has been restricted for your course. If you are an instructor, contact your admin for assistance.
  • You may be able to remove section enrollments within your course Settings in Canvas. Removing an enrollment removes all associated coursework and grades from the course.

    Section enrollments also include the Test Student, which is created when you enable Student View. If you need to remove the Test Student from the Gradebook, you can remove the Test Student from the enrolled section. Note that the Test Student may be part of more than one section.

    Notes:

    • Sections may be added by your institution's student information system (SIS). If a section in your course includes an SIS ID, you may not have permission to remove section enrollments.
    • If you want to retain enrollment information for the user, you may be able to conclude the enrollment instead.
  • If you cross-listed a section from a course, you may be able to cross-list the same section back into the original course. This process is called de-cross-listing and returns all student enrollments back to the original course section. However, once you de-cross-list enrollments, all grades and student submissions are removed from the course (since the course can no longer associate the information with any course enrollments). If you need to retain student grades and put them in the original course, you should export the Gradebook and import it into the original course before de-cross-listing the section.

    Note: If you cannot view the De-Cross-List this Section button, you no longer have an enrollment in the original course. For assistance in de-cross-listing a section, please contact your Canvas admin.

  • You can change the name of a section by editing your course Settings in Canvas.

    Note: Sections may be added by your institution's student information system (SIS). If a section in your course includes an SIS ID, you may not have permission to change the section name.

  • Updated on: Jul 17, 2020

    How do I delete a course section?

    You can delete a section by editing your course Settings in Canvas. You cannot delete a section with users enrolled.

    Note: Sections may be added by your institution's student information system (SIS). If a section in your course includes an SIS ID, you may not have permission to delete sections.

  • You can view section enrollments within your course Settings in Canvas.

    Section enrollments also include the Test Student, which is created when you enable Student View.

  • If you modify a resource (learning activity) in Canvas that was previously shared to Commons, you can reshare the modified resource to Commons and the existing resource in Commons will be updated.

    Notes:

    • To enable Commons in your Canvas instance, please contact your Customer Success Manager.
    • Commons is available in all Free for Teacher (FFT) accounts. Free for Teacher users are limited to finding, importing, and sharing public resources.
    • If you choose to update a previously shared resource, the previous version will be replaced. If you choose not to update a previously shared resource, a new resource will be created.
    Manual Commons Guide
  • Manual Commons Guide
  • Manual Commons Guide