How do I change self-enrollment settings for my course?

Self-enrollment allows a student to sign up for a course using a secret URL or code. An account administrator determines if self-enrollment is enabled or disabled for the account. If self-enrollment is enabled, an instructor must also enable self-enrollment at the course level to create a self-enrollment course.

This lesson demonstrates how to change self-enrollment options at the course level. Self-enrollment can be enabled for a course whether or not the course is publicly visible.

The steps in this lesson are relevant only if self-enrollment is enabled at the account level.

Learn more about enrollment and registration settings.

Open Settings

Open Settings

In Course Navigation, click the Settings link.

Open Course Details

Open Course Details

Click the Course Details tab.

Open More Options

Open More Options

Click the More Options link.

Set Self-Enrollment Options

Set Self-Enrollment Options

Select the Let students self-enroll by sharing with them a secret URL or code checkbox [1]. Choosing this option allows students to self-enroll through a URL link and code. The URL option is available whether or not the course is publicly visible.

If you want to add an enrollment link to the course home page, click the Add a "Join this Course" link to the course home page checkbox [2].

Note: By default, self-enrollment is not enabled for courses. An instructor must select this checkbox to enable self-enrollment.

Update Course Details

Update Course Details

Click the Update Course Details button to save your setting changes.