How do I add comments or replies to Canvas Studio media in a course?

You can add comments directly to a video or audio file to create commentary or ask questions. You can edit or delete your comments if necessary.

You can also reply to a comment that has been posted in the timeline. Currently, replies only support one reply level. You cannot reply to another user's reply.

Note: Instructors can delete any comment at any time.

Open Media

Open Media

Open the Canvas feature area that displays the video or audio file you want to view.

Play Media

Play Media

To play the media file, click the Play button [1]. The timeline displays the total length of the media [2].

View Timeline

View Timeline

To pause the media as it plays, click the Pause button [1]. As the media plays, the bar acts as a timer for the media. Starting with 00:00, the numbers change to show the elapsed time in the media [2].

Enable Comments

Enable Comments

To view inline comments as you watch the media, click the Media Settings icon [1] then click the Comments toggle [2]. When enabled, the timeline displays dots to indicate inline comments. View comments in the Comments tab [3]. Comments display chronologically by time and are highlighted as they appear in the timeline.

Add Comment

Add Comment

To add a comment in the media timeline, enter your comment in the Comment field [1]. As soon as you start typing, the media automatically pauses.

When ready to add your comment, click the Comment at Time button [2]. The button displays the timestamp where your comment displays in the media timeline.

Create Comment Reply

Create Comment Reply

If you just want to leave a reply to an existing comments, locate the comment and click the Reply link.

Save Reply

Save Reply

Enter your reply in the reply field [1]. Click the Save button [2].

Edit Comment

Edit Comment

To edit your comment, click the Edit icon.

Delete Comment

Delete Comment

To delete your comment, click the Delete icon [1], then click the confirm delete link [2].

Note: Deleting your comment retains your name and shows that the comment has been deleted. Deleted comments cannot be recovered.