Recent Updates

  • Updated on: Jan 17, 2020

    How do I use Files as a student?

    As a student, Files allows you to store files and assignments within Canvas. You can upload one or multiple files, view all details about your files, and preview files. Files is built with responsive design to adjust for browser scaling. The folder navigation window, file displays, and even file names adjust to the width of the browser window.

    View a video about files.

    You may have access to files (documents, images, media, etc.) in three different feature areas:

    • User files, located in your user account
    • Course files, located in each course where you are enrolled (if your instructor allows you to view Course Files)
    • Group files, located in each group where you are a member
  • Updated on: Jan 17, 2020

    How do I view course files as a student?

    Course files include any content uploaded to a course. If your instructor allows you to view the Files link in Course Navigation, you can view the files in your course.

  • Updated on: Jan 17, 2020

    How do I preview a file as a student?

    You can preview a file in a course, group, or user file storage area.

    Learn how to locate your user files, course files, and group files.

  • Updated on: Dec 21, 2019

    What are Analytics?

  • If you are the course instructor or the creator of a collaboration, you can delete the collaboration from Canvas. Deleting the collaboration only removes access to the collaboration in Canvas. Users can still view the collaboration in their online account for the collaboration type (OneDrive or Google Drive, respectively).

    Once a term ends or a course is concluded, the collaboration document will still be available from Canvas and the collaboration's source drive. if the document settings remain unchanged, users can still access the collaboration file, but any updates are not reflected in course notifications.

    If you want to retain the collaboration document as part of the course or for your records, you may consider changing the sharing settings so the document is only available for viewing (and possibly disabling options to download, print, and copy). You can also change the sharing settings so that the document is no longer available to any users.

    Google Drive and OneDrive

    When deleting a Google Drive or OneDrive collaboration, the collaboration is immediately removed from the course. However, users can still access the file in their online account for the collaboration type.

    Google Doc

    If you are deleting a Google Doc, you can choose to delete the collaboration only from the course, or you can delete it from the course as well as Google Docs. However, deleting the document from Google Docs immediately deletes the collaboration and cannot be recovered.

    Note: Depending on your institution's preference, your Collaborations page may not match the images shown in this lesson. However, functionality of the page remains the same.

  • You can start a new collaboration using Google Docs in Canvas. Google Docs allows you to add up to 50 users per collaboration, and all users can view and edit a document at the same time. However, a Google file may be shared with up to 200 email addresses including viewers, commenters, and editors.

    Google Docs collaborations are separate from Google Drive collaborations. If your collaboration options include Google Spreadsheets and Presentations in addition to Documents, your course has enabled Google Drive collaborations.

    Notes:

    • This lesson is for creating a collaboration in a course; when collaborations are created in a group, only group members and users with instructor-based roles (including TAs) can be selected as collaborators.
    • Creating a collaboration is a course permission. If you cannot create a collaboration in a course, your institution has restricted this feature.
    • Each collaborator will need a Google account and will need to connect Google Drive as a registered service in Canvas. If you are the owner of the collaboration, you will have to turn on the Share settings to allow people who have the link to edit the document.
    • Google Apps for Education (integration with your school) works with Google Docs in Canvas. Please note, if your school email does not allow access to Google Docs, you will need to use a regular Google account (i.e. example@gmail.com).
    • Email notifications for collaborations relate directly to the account used to connect to Google Drive.
  • You can use Google Drive to create a collaboration with a Google Document, Spreadsheet, or Presentation. You can select¬†individual users, groups, or both as part of a collaboration.

    Google Docs allows you to add up to 50 users per collaboration, and all users can view and edit a document at the same time. However, a Google file may be shared with up to 200 email addresses including viewers, commenters, and editors.

    Notes:

    • Google Drive collaborations are separate from Google Docs collaborations. If you cannot create a Google Drive collaboration, this feature has not been enabled for the course.
    • Once you invite a user to a collaboration, the collaboration is available to the user in the user's Google Drive. Uninviting the user or deleting the collaboration does not remove access to the collaboration once a user has been added.
  • Once you have configured the Attendance tool, Roll Call Badges are a versatile way to make quick notations about your students using the Roll Call attendance tool. For example, you can quickly mark when a student is disruptive or actively participating in the class so that you have a record of that student's activities.

    You can add and manage any course-level attendance badges in any student's attendance information profile. New badges are always available to all students and will not/cannot be created for individual students. Badges may be created, however, that are only applicable in certain circumstances such as "Absent due to death in family" or "Absent due to school-sanctioned activity."

    Canvas admins have the right to delete any course-level badges that may be considered inappropriate.

    Note: Roll Call Attendance Badges are not visible to students.

  • You can drag and drop the students in your course to create a seating chart for your classroom.

    Once you have created your seating chart, learn how to take roll call in your course.

    Note: Currently Roll Call does not support a seating chart print option. However, you can always print the screen image from your browser.

  • You can run reports to review attendance data for your students. This report is sent to your email, where it can be downloaded as a comma separated value (CSV) file.

    Reports are delivered in a CSV format and display all content in a list. Reports always include the following data fields: Course ID, SIS Course ID, Course Code, Course Name, Teacher ID, Teacher Name, Student ID, Student Name, Class Date, Attendance, and Timestamp.

    Roll Call Attendance Badges are included in course reports if they were created at the most immediate account or sub-account level and have been assigned to students. If the course belongs to a sub-account, only badges created at the sub-account level will appear in reports. If the course does not belong to a sub-account, only badges created at the account level will appear in reports. Additionally, the badges will also only be included if they were set within the time frame you specify in the report.

    You can generate reports for the entire course or a specific student. To locate a student or course ID, view the People page. The student SIS ID will be listed in the table. The course ID will be in the browser URL (e.g. courses/XXXXXX/users/XXX).

    Note: You can narrow large results within a CSV report using the Data group Filter button.