Recent Updates

  • If your institution has enabled the Profiles feature for your institution, Profiles allows you to view a user's name, preferred contact methods, and any custom URLs added to the user's account. Users can edit their profile from the User Navigation Menu.

    Notes:

    • If your user details page does not match the layout shown in this lesson, Profiles has not been enabled for your institution. Please reference the user details page lesson.
    • Viewing user details in a user's profile is a course permission. Depending on your permissions, you may not be able to view all available information in the user's profile page.
  • Concluded enrollments for manually concluded courses or manually individually concluded enrollments are located in the prior enrollments section of the People page.

    Note: If a course was naturally concluded through term, course, or section dates, or if it was concluded through SIS data, concluded enrollments appear as a read-only version of the People page.

  • The user details page shows a user's profile picture, memberships, and recent messages, as well as other data.

    Notes:

    • If your user details page does not match the layout shown in this lesson, please reference the user profiles lesson, which shows how to use the user details page when Profiles are enabled for your institution.
    • Viewing user details is a course permission. Depending on your permissions, you may not be able to view all available information in a user's details page.
  • Student Interactions Report allows you to see and evaluate the interactions between you and those enrolled in your course. You can access this informations from the Grades page in Course Navigation or the People page for a specific course.

    Interactions are recorded when you contact the student via Conversations or when you leave a comment on an assignment.

  • You can view which web services your students have linked to in Canvas. Learn how to connect to web services in Canvas.

    Note: Registered services can also be viewed for individual users in the People user details page.

  • If you have the correct permissions from your administrator, you can link a student to an observer from the People page. When an observer is linked to a student, the observer can observe the student's activities and grades in the course.

  • You can see a summary of all your interactions with individual students.

    Interactions are recorded when you contact the student via Conversations or when you leave a comment on an assignment.

  • As an instructor, you may be added to a group within your institution. Groups files include any content uploaded to your group workspace.

    Group files include uploaded assignment submissions, files for projects, and other group-related items. By default, each group has 50 MB of storage space in Canvas. Administrators can change the quota for the entire institution or on a group-by-group basis.

    Group files are automatically published when they are uploaded to the group. However, if the group requires you to set a usage right, the file will remain unpublished until a usage right is set for the file.

    As groups are essentially mini courses, all group members have the same permissions to moderate files, including uploading files, publishing files, restricting access and unpublishing files, and deleting files.

  • You can delete your ePortfolios in Canvas if you need to remove them.

  • Enable comments to allow others to add comments to your ePortfolio pages. Comments will only be visible to the ePortfolio owner. To allow others to view comments, you will need to make comments public.

    Note: Users must be logged in to the same Canvas account to make comments regardless of your ePortfolio visibility setting.