Canvas GuidesCanvas Instructor Guide SettingsHow do I change the start and end dates for a course?

How do I change the start and end dates for a course?

By default, courses inherit term dates set for your entire institution. However, as an instructor, you may need to change the start and end dates for your course. Dates can be shorter than the term dates or overlap the term dates.

Adding course dates automatically creates an override for term dates. Entering an end date in the course will tell Canvas to conclude the course on the entered date. When the course is concluded, the course is removed from the Dashboard, and in the Courses list, the course will be moved to the Past Enrollments section.

Additionally, you can also set whether or not students can only participate in the course during the specified course dates. Participation means that students can submit assignments, post discussions, upload files, or take part in any other action-based task within a course. If your require students to only be able to participate during the course dates, they can accept the course invitation, access the course, and look at content, but they cannot fully participate until the first day of the course. When the course is concluded, the course is placed in a read-only state.

If you do not want students to be able to view any content in your course until the course start date, Course Settings also allows you to restrict students from being able to access content. You can also choose to restrict all access to your course after the course has concluded. Learn how to restrict course access.

Open Settings

Open Settings

In Course Navigation, click the Settings link.

Open Course Details

Open Course Details

Click the Course Details tab.

Set Course Start Date

Set Course Start Date

Click the Starts calendar icon [1]. Click a new start date for the course [2].

Set End Date

Set End Date

Click the Ends calendar icon [1]. Click a new end date for the course [2].

View Date Warning

Note: In your end date, if you do not set a time, or you set the end time to midnight, a warning icon will appear notifying you that the date prior to the set end date will be the last available day in the course. For instance, if the course were set to end May 26, the last full available date for the course would be May 25.

Limit User Participation

Limit User Participation

If you do not want to let students participate in the course outside of the course dates, select the Users can only participate in the course between these dates checkbox.

Note: If this checkbox is not selected, students can participate in the course before and after the start date, and participation will only be limited by the term dates.

Update Course Details

Update Course Details

Click the Update Course Details button.