Recent Updates

  • In the Canvas Parent app, you can log in with a Parent app account or with Canvas observer credentials to view student course information.

  • After the first time you take roll call, Canvas automatically creates an assignment for Roll Call Attendance and adds a column to the Gradebook. By default, attendance is worth 100 points.

    To avoid Attendance calculation errors, never delete, rename, or unpublish the Attendance assignment.

    Instructors can edit several components of the Roll Call Attendance assignment:

    • If you are using weighted assignment groups, you can create a new weighted assignment group and move the attendance assignment into that group.
    • You can edit the assignment and change the point value.
    • You can remove Attendance from the Gradebook completely by changing the assignment type.
    • You can exclude the attendance assignment from the final grade.

     

    Note: The Attendance assignment will not appear until you have taken roll for at least one student.

  • After the Attendance tool has been enabled for your course, you can configure the attendance tool to meet the needs of your students. However, some items cannot be configured until after your course is published and students have accepted the course invitation.

    Note: The Attendance tool must be enabled by your Canvas admin before it can be used in your course. If you cannot see the Attendance link in Course Navigation, please contact your administrator.

  • When a course is completed and you want to provide read-only access to the course, you may be able to conclude the course manually in Canvas. However, if your institution uses software that automatically concludes enrollments, you do not have to manually end your course since the end date of the course will automatically conclude the course on your behalf.

    When courses are manually concluded, all enrollments are removed from the course and placed in the prior enrollments page. All users in the course will have read-only access. This change applies to all enrollments, including course instructors. Instructor-based roles will no longer have the same access in the course and will result in loss of course functionality and user information, such as viewing SIS data. If full functionality is still required for instructors but you want to conclude the course for students, learn how to change the end date of your course instead.

    Once a course is concluded, if you do not want students to be able to view the course at all, you can restrict students from viewing prior courses.

    Note: Manually concluding a course is a course permission. If the Conclude this Course button does not appear in Course Settings, this setting has been restricted for your course.

  • You can add a section to your course by editing your course Settings in Canvas. Sections help subdivide students within a course and offer section-specific options such as varied due dates for assignments, discussions, and quizzes.

    Sections can also be created for students who need extra time in a course, such as if a student has an incomplete grade.

    Note: Sections may be added by your institution's student information system (SIS). Some course sections may have already been created for you.

  • Once you delete a course, the course will be completely removed from your institution's account and will not be viewable by you, prior students, or the account administrator. We do not recommend deleting courses, especially if the course contains content and student data because you may need to access that information a later date.

    If you only want to remove the course from Courses & Groups in the Global Navigation, you can change the course end date, or if you have permission, conclude your course instead.

    Notes:

    • Before you delete your course, make sure you have a record of your Course ID number. Administrators can restore deleted courses if they know the Course ID number. You can locate your Course ID number at the end of your course URL (i.e. canvas.instructure.com/courses/XXXXXX).
    • Deleting a course is a course permission for manually created courses only. If the Permanently Delete this Course button does not appear in Course Settings and your course was not generated through a student information system (SIS), this setting has been restricted for your course. If you are an instructor, contact your admin for assistance.
  • If you cross-listed a section from a course, you may be able to cross-list the same section back into the original course. This process is called de-cross-listing and returns all student enrollments back to the original course section. However, once you de-cross-list enrollments, all grades and student submissions are removed from the course (since the course can no longer associate the information with any course enrollments). If you need to retain student grades and put them in the original course, you should export the Gradebook and import it into the original course before de-cross-listing the section.

    Note: If you cannot view the De-Cross-List this Section button, you no longer have an enrollment in the original course. For assistance in de-cross-listing a section, please contact your Canvas admin.