Recent Updates

  • If you cross-listed a section from a course, you may be able to cross-list the same section back into the original course. This process is called de-cross-listing and returns all student enrollments back to the original course section. However, once you de-cross-list enrollments, all grades and student submissions are removed from the course (since the course can no longer associate the information with any course enrollments). If you need to retain student grades and put them in the original course, you should export the Gradebook and import it into the original course before de-cross-listing the section.

    Note: If you cannot view the De-Cross-List this Section button, you no longer have an enrollment in the original course. For assistance in de-cross-listing a section, please contact your Canvas admin.

  • You can change the name of a section by editing your course Settings in Canvas.

    Note: Sections may be added by your institution's student information system (SIS). If a section in your course includes an SIS ID, you may not have permission to change the section name.

  • Updated on: Jul 17, 2020

    How do I delete a course section?

    You can delete a section by editing your course Settings in Canvas. You cannot delete a section with users enrolled.

    Note: Sections may be added by your institution's student information system (SIS). If a section in your course includes an SIS ID, you may not have permission to delete sections.

  • You can view section enrollments within your course Settings in Canvas.

    Section enrollments also include the Test Student, which is created when you enable Student View.

  • If you modify a resource (learning activity) in Canvas that was previously shared to Commons, you can reshare the modified resource to Commons and the existing resource in Commons will be updated.

    Notes:

    • To enable Commons in your Canvas instance, please contact your Customer Success Manager.
    • Commons is available in all Free for Teacher (FFT) accounts. Free for Teacher users are limited to finding, importing, and sharing public resources.
    • If you choose to update a previously shared resource, the previous version will be replaced. If you choose not to update a previously shared resource, a new resource will be created.
    Manual Commons Guide
  • Manual Commons Guide
  • Manual Commons Guide
  • Updated on: Jul 17, 2020

    How do I preview resources in Commons?

    Manual Commons Guide
  • Manual Commons Guide
  • Manual Commons Guide