Recent Updates

  • As part of creating or editing a conference, you can choose to set up your conference to be recorded. Once this setting is enabled, you can start and stop the recording as necessary in the Conferences interface.

    After the conference has concluded, the recorded segments will be published as one recording. You can view recorded conferences in the group Conferences page.

    Recording Restrictions

    • When creating your conference, you must select the record option to record the conference.
    • Canvas' standard recording feature will store your recordings in Conferences for 14 days and then remove them automatically.
    • Recorded conferences cannot be downloaded.

     

    Note: Creating a conference is a course permission. If you cannot create a conference, your institution has restricted this feature.

  • You can edit conferences within your student groups. Conferences can be edited by any group member. You can add new users to the conference, but you cannot remove any users who have already been invited.

    Note: When a conference has been recorded and the conference is concluded, you cannot edit the conference recording.

  • You can delete new and concluded conferences.

    Note: Deleting a concluded conference also immediately removes the conference from the server, in addition to all associated recordings.

  • You can create a conference in your student group. Conferences can accommodate up to 50 people.

    You can create multiple conferences, which are listed in chronological order by the date they were created. The most recently created conference will appear at the top of the list.

    Note: Creating a conference is a course permission. If you cannot create a conference, your institution has restricted this feature.

  • The Conferences page allows you to view all the conferences within a course. As a student, you can join conferences where you have been invited to participate.

    In student groups, you can create new conferences, start conferences, and manage concluded conferences.

    Note: Creating a conference is a course permission. If you cannot create a conference, your institution has restricted this feature.

  • Updated on: Jan 05, 2022

    How do I manage Course Navigation links?

    As an instructor, you can control which links appear in Course Navigation. By default, all links are enabled for all courses. Please note that links cannot be renamed.

    Links to sections that don't have any content and that students cannot create content for will automatically not be shown to students and will be faded for your view. For example, if there are no learning outcomes set for the course, you will see the faded Outcomes link, but students will not see the link at all. Configured External Apps may create additional Course Navigation links.

    Disabling a course navigation link creates the following redirects:

    • Hidden only (cannot be disabled): Discussions, Grades, and People
    • Page disabled; redirected to home page: Announcements, Assignments, Conferences, Collaborations, Files, Modules, Outcomes, Quizzes, pages, Syllabus
    • Page disabled; won't appear in navigation: Any LTI links, such as Attendance, Chat, and SCORM

    Note: Reordering and hiding Course Navigation links affects the course tabs in the Dashboard course view. Learn more about the Dashboard.

  • Updated on: Jan 05, 2022

    How do I start a conference?

    You can start conferences that you have created for your course.

  • Updated on: Jan 05, 2022

    How do I record a conference?

    As part of creating or editing a conference, you can choose to set up your conference to be recorded. Once this setting is enabled, you can start and stop the recording as necessary in the Conferences interface.

    After the conference has concluded, the recorded segments will be published as one recording. You can view recorded conferences in the Conferences Index Page.

    Recording Restrictions

    • When creating your conference, you must select the record option to record the conference.
    • Canvas' standard recording feature will store your recordings in Conferences for 14 days and then remove them automatically.
    • Recorded conferences cannot be downloaded.

     

    For alternative storage and download options, contact BigBlueButton to set up a hosting account.

    Note: Creating a conference is a course permission. If you cannot create a conference, your institution has restricted this feature.

  • Updated on: Jan 05, 2022

    How do I edit a conference?

    You can edit the settings of a conference in your course. You can add new users to the conference, but you cannot remove any users who have already been invited.

    Note: When a conference has been recorded and the conference is concluded, you cannot edit the conference recording.

  • Updated on: Jan 05, 2022

    How do I delete a conference?

    You can delete new and concluded conferences. Deleting a concluded conference also immediately removes the conference from the server, in addition to all associated recordings.