Recent Updates

  • Updated on: Jun 19, 2020

    How do I bulk upload files to a course?

    If you have a lot of files to add to your course, you can bulk upload them.

    Notes:

    • You can also bulk upload files by dragging and dropping the files into Canvas from your computer. However, sometimes too many files can cause problems. If you have more than 50 files, try zipping the files and uploading the ZIP file into your course.
    • If you are using Usage Rights, you must set the file usage rights before the files can be published.
  • Updated on: Jun 19, 2020

    Logging into a Free-for-Teacher account

  • By default, Canvas allows students to see assignment grades as soon as the instructor has graded the assignment. In some cases, instructors may wish to hold student grades until all assignments have been graded, and then release grades to all students at the same time. To hide student grades temporarily, an instructor can choose to mark an assignment as "muted". Students can still see and submit a muted assignment. Only the grade will be hidden. You can also mute assignments in SpeedGrader.

    A muted assignment will not send out grade change notifications or any new instructor comments until the assignment is unmuted. A muted assignment displays a "mute" icon on the student grades page so students know the assignment is muted. Students will be unable to view their grades, including grade and score changes, submission comments, and curved assignments for the assignment until the assignment is unmuted.

    Muting should only be used to temporarily block grading work in progress from student view. It should not be used to conceal grades for longer than reasonably necessary.

    If you do not want students to be able to view their total grade, you can hide the total grade from students.

    Notes:

    • If you make changes to a muted assignment, the total score as you see it (in both the Gradebook and the student Grades page) will be affected. However, students will not see any changes when they view their Grades page. Once you unmute the assignment, the total grade in the student's view will update accordingly.
    • If you unmute an assignment with varied due dates, all students will receive score results at the same time.
    • Viewing the Total Column in the Gradebook may be restricted when multiple grading periods are enabled.
    • Students will not be able to see their quiz responses while a quiz is muted.
  • Updated on: Jun 10, 2020

    How do I sync grades to Banner?

    If your institution is using Banner as a Student Information System (SIS), you can use the Gradebook to pass final grades back to Banner. Banner must be preconfigured for your account to use this feature. Additionally, course grading scheme must be enabled to publish letter grades. Verify you have an enabled course grading scheme.

    When grades are sent, Canvas will immediately initiate the grades transfer, but you may need to wait a few minutes before data appears in Banner.

    Grades can be re-published with new grade values to Banner until the grades are rolled.

    Note: If the Publish Grades to SIS option is not available to you, please contact your Canvas administrator.

  • There are different icons on the Grades page. Depending on the type of assignment submission, grading rules, and comments, you will see different icons.

  • You can use Microsoft Office 365 to create a collaboration with a Microsoft Word, Excel, or PowerPoint file. You can select individual users, groups, or both as part of a collaboration.

    Notes:

    • If you cannot create a Microsoft collaboration, this feature has not been enabled for the course.
    • Once you invite a user to a collaboration, the collaboration is available to the user in the user's Microsoft OneDrive. Uninviting the user or deleting the collaboration does not remove access to the collaboration once a user has been added.
  • You can use Microsoft Office 365 to create a collaboration with a Microsoft Word, Excel, or PowerPoint file. You can select individual users, groups, or both as part of a collaboration.

    Notes:

    • If you cannot create a Microsoft collaboration, this feature has not been enabled for the course.
    • Once you invite a user to a collaboration, the collaboration is available to the user in the user's Microsoft OneDrive. Uninviting the user or deleting the collaboration does not remove access to the collaboration once a user has been added.
  • Macros allow you to save a set of case settings and apply them to cases in Service Cloud. These changes include transferring a case to a specific user, case status, Canvas Component Affected, Canvas Component Issue, and case comments.

    To apply a macro to multiple cases, use the Mass Update feature.

  • Macros allow users to make a set of changes to a case with the single push of a button. These changes include transferring a case to a specific user, case status, Canvas Component Affected, Canvas Component Issue, and case comments. Macros can be used to make changes to a single case or make mass case updates in Service Cloud. You can create, edit, clone, and delete macros.