Canvas Guides (en)Recent Updates

Recent Updates

  • You can easily edit details for each section in your course. As part of editing details, you may need to create start and end dates for your section. Dates can be shorter than the course dates or overlap the section dates. Changing the section dates creates an override for the section dates, and students can only access the section during the specified section dates.

    Note: Sections may be added by your institution's student information system (SIS).

  • You can add a section to your course by editing your course Settings in Canvas. Sections help subdivide students within a course and offer section-specific options such as varied due dates for assignments, discussions, and quizzes.

    Sections can also be created for students who need extra time in a course, such as if a student has an incomplete grade.

    Note: Sections may be added by your institution's student information system (SIS). Some course sections may have already been created for you.

  • When a course is completed and you want to provide read-only access to the course, you may be able to conclude the course manually in Canvas. However, if your institution uses software that automatically concludes enrollments, you do not have to manually end your course since the end date of the course will automatically conclude the course on your behalf.

    When courses are manually concluded, all enrollments are removed from the course and placed in the prior enrollments page. All users in the course will have read-only access. This change applies to all enrollments, including course instructors. Instructor-based roles will no longer have the same access in the course and will result in loss of course functionality and user information, such as viewing SIS data. If full functionality is still required for instructors but you want to conclude the course for students, you can change the end date of the course. Please note that instructors can also change the course date for their courses.

    Once a course is concluded, if you do not want students to be able to view the course at all, you can restrict students from viewing prior courses.

    Note: Manually concluding a course is a course permission. If the Conclude this Course button does not appear in Course Settings, this setting has been restricted for your course. If you are an instructor, contact your admin for assistance.

    Note: You can unconclude courses if necessary.

  • If an instructor has the appropriate permissions to conclude a course before the end of the term, Canvas sets an immediate end date for the course and puts the course in an archived state for both students and instructors. However, as an admin, you can unconclude courses at any time if an instructor needs to have a course restored to the account.

  • Cross-listing allows you to create a section in one account or sub-account and then move it to a course on a different account or sub-account.

    Cross-listing is usually an admin permission only. However, some institutions allow their instructors to cross-list their own sections.

  • You can add a course in your account in the Courses page.

    Note: Courses can also be added through SIS Imports. Courses added manually in Canvas are not linked back to any SIS data (though they could be by associating an SIS ID) and are not affected by SIS imports.

  • Once you delete a course, the course will be completely removed from your institution's account and will not be viewable by you, prior students, or the account administrator. We do not recommend deleting courses (even concluded ones), especially if the course contains content and student data because you may need to access that information a later date.

    If you only want to remove the course from Courses & Groups in the Global Navigation Bar, you can change the course end date, or conclude the course instead.

    Note: Before you delete a course, make sure you have a record of your Course ID number in case you need to restore it. You can locate your Course ID number at the end of your course URL (i.e. canvas.instructure.com/courses/XXXXXX).

  • The Learning Mastery Gradebook Individual View allows instructors to assess one student and one outcome at a time. Fully accessible to screen readers, this Gradebook view allows instructors to sort by section and outcome and contains all the same settings that are available in the Learning Mastery Gradebook Default View (the view that shows all students in a course).

    If you are not familiar with the settings and other options in the Learning Mastery Gradebook, click the feature links throughout this lesson to learn more about how the feature works in Default View.

    Like all Gradebook tabs, Individual View is persistent. Therefore, once you switch the Gradebook to Individual View, the Gradebook will always display in Individual View until it is switched back to Default View.

  • The Learning Mastery Gradebook helps instructors and admins assess the outcome standards being used in Canvas courses. This gradebook helps institutions measure student learning for accreditation and better assess the needs of their students.  

    The default view in the Learning Mastery Gradebook is to view all students at the same time, but you can also view students individually using Individual View.

    Note: The Learning Mastery Gradebook is currently a course opt-in feature. To enable this gradebook, learn how to manage feature options in the course features lesson.

  • The Learning Mastery Gradebook Individual View allows instructors to assess one student and one outcome at a time. Fully accessible to screen readers, this Gradebook view allows instructors to sort by section and outcome and contains all the same settings that are available in the Learning Mastery Gradebook Default View (the view that shows all students in a course).

    If you are not familiar with the settings and other options in the Learning Mastery Gradebook, click the feature links throughout this lesson to learn more about how the feature works in Default View.

    Like all Gradebook tabs, Individual View is persistent. Therefore, once you switch the Gradebook to Individual View, the Gradebook will always display in Individual View until it is switched back to Default View.