Canvas Guides (en)Recent Updates

Recent Updates

  • When a course is completed and you want to provide read-only access to the course, you may be able to conclude the course manually in Canvas. However, if your institution uses software that automatically concludes enrollments, you do not have to manually end your course since the end date of the course will automatically conclude the course on your behalf.

    When courses are manually concluded, all enrollments are removed from the course and placed in the prior enrollments page. All users in the course will have read-only access. This change applies to all enrollments, including course instructors. Instructor-based roles will no longer have the same access in the course and will result in loss of course functionality and user information, such as viewing SIS data. If full functionality is still required for instructors but you want to conclude the course for students, learn how to change the end date of your course instead.

    Once a course is concluded, if you do not want students to be able to view the course at all, you can restrict students from viewing prior courses.

    Note: Manually concluding a course is a course permission. If the Conclude this Course button does not appear in Course Settings, this setting has been restricted for your course.

  • You can add a section to your course by editing your course Settings in Canvas. Sections help subdivide students within a course and offer section-specific options such as varied due dates for assignments, discussions, and quizzes.

    Sections can also be created for students who need extra time in a course, such as if a student has an incomplete grade.

    Note: Sections may be added by your institution's student information system (SIS). Some course sections may have already been created for you.

  • The first few times you create a new course in Canvas, it's a challenge to remember all of the steps required. The Course Setup Checklist exists to help you remember to cover all your bases before the course goes live.

  • Updated on: Jul 17, 2020

    How do I use the Course Setup Checklist?

    The first few times you create a new course in Canvas, it's a challenge to remember all of the steps required. The Course Setup Checklist exists to help you remember to cover all your bases before the course goes live.

  • Canvas courses have three essential states: unpublished, published, and concluded.

  • Updated on: Jul 17, 2020

    How do I publish a course?

    If you have permission to publish your course, you can publish your course in the Course Home Page sidebar.

    You can also publish your course in the Course Setup Checklist.

    Notes:

    • Publishing a course is a course permission. If you cannot publish your course, your institution has restricted this feature.
    • Publishing your course will also send invitations to any users added to your course and allow them to access the course. However, the course invitation will not be sent until after the course start date. (The start date is commonly the term date, unless the term is being overridden by a specific course or section date in Course Settings.)