Recent Updates

  • You may be able to deactivate an enrollment in your course within your course Settings in Canvas. An inactive enrollment retains prior activity in a course but does not allow the student to access course content. This status can be used for students who do not pay tuition or drop the course at a future date. Inactive students do not appear in any messaging lists within the course and cannot be added to a group. Grades for inactive students still display in the Gradebook and can be edited like other students.

    To see course participation for an inactive enrollment compared to other enrollment types, view the Canvas Enrollment Status Comparison PDF.

    Note: Enrollments may be added by your institution's student information system (SIS). If an enrollment includes an SIS ID, you cannot deactivate an enrollment from the course. Additionally, deactivating enrollments is a course permission. If you cannot deactivate enrollments in your course, your institution has restricted this feature.

  • If your course includes multiple sections, you can limit users in a section to only see users enrolled in the same section. This option is useful when several sections have been cross-listed into a single course.

    You can set limitations when adding users to a course, or after students have already been added to the course.

    Limiting students to interact by section only affects Collaborations, Chat, People, and Conversations. When enrolling instructors and TAs, section limitations allow those users to grade students in their same section(s).

    Discussion topics and Pages are not affected by section limitations and can be viewed by any student. These feature areas could be restricted by creating content in course groups.

    Note: The option to limit a user displays even if there is only one section in the course.

  • The user details page shows a user's profile picture, memberships, and recent messages, as well as other data.

    Notes:

    • If your user details page does not match the layout shown in this lesson, please reference the user profiles lesson, which shows how to use the user details page when Profiles are enabled for your institution.
    • Viewing user details is a course permission. Depending on your permissions, you may not be able to view all available information in a user's details page.
  • You can view which web services your students have linked to in Canvas. Learn how to connect to web services in Canvas.

    Note: Registered services can also be viewed for individual users in the People user details page.

  • Student Interactions Report allows you to see and evaluate the interactions between you and those enrolled in your course. You can access this informations from the Grades page in Course Navigation or the People page for a specific course.

    Interactions are recorded when you contact the student via Conversations or when you leave a comment on an assignment.

  • If you have the correct permissions from your administrator, you can link a student to an observer from the People page. When an observer is linked to a student, the observer can observe the student's activities and grades in the course.

  • You may be able to remove an enrollment in your course within your course Settings in Canvas. Removing an enrollment deletes the enrollment from your account, but admins can view these enrollments as deleted enrollments in account-level reports. Users removed from a course do not have any record of participation in the course. You may want to conclude or deactivate the enrollment instead.

    To see course participation for a deleted enrollment as compared to other enrollment types, view the Canvas Enrollment Status Comparison PDF.

    Notes:

    • Removing enrollments is a course permission. If you cannot remove enrollments in your course, your institution has restricted this feature.
    • Enrollments may be added by your institution's student information system (SIS). If an enrollment includes an SIS ID, only admins can remove an enrollment from the course.
  • You can see a summary of all your interactions with individual students.

    Interactions are recorded when you contact the student via Conversations or when you leave a comment on an assignment.

  • If a course is defined by term, course, or section dates, all enrollments are automatically concluded as defined by the term, course, or section end date. A course can also be manually concluded at any time, which affects all enrollments.

    However, as an instructor you may need to conclude an individual enrollment before the end date.Concluding an enrollment allows the user to view a course in read-only mode. This means the user will be able to access the course but not be able to submit assignments, participate in discussions, or send/receive conversation messages in the course. The user's analytics will still be available. Once a course is concluded, if you do not want students to view prior course content, you can restrict students from viewing prior courses.

    You can also restore an enrollment if necessary.

    To see course participation for a concluded enrollment as compared to other enrollment types, view the Canvas Enrollment Status Comparison PDF.

    Note: Enrollments may be added by your institution's student information system (SIS). If an enrollment includes an SIS ID, you cannot conclude an enrollment from the course. Additionally, concluding enrollments is a course permission. If you cannot conclude enrollments in your course, your institution has restricted this feature.

  • You can add people to an existing thread in the Conversations Inbox.

    Note: When adding users to an existing conversation, you cannot change the course or the subject line.