Recent Updates

  • Masquerading, or becoming a user, allows admins to log in as the user without a password. You can take any action as though you are the user, but the audit logs will show that you performed the tasks while masquerading. Audit logs can be viewed by admins who have access to Canvas Data files.  

    Only account-level users with the Become Other Users account permission can masquerade—this permission does not apply to sub-account admins.

    Notes:

    • When masquerading as a user, language preferences do not apply and will always be shown in the default language.
    • If your institution has a trust agreement with another institution, trust accounts do not grant permission for you to masquerade as users associated with a different Canvas URL. You can only masquerade as users who are associated with your same account.
    • Additionally, once you are masquerading, any user role that can view the user details page displays the masquerading Become link in the user details page. This behavior takes place because of an override to your masquerading permissions and helps you quickly masquerade as another user; it does not mean that the user for whom you are masquerading is also able to masquerade.
    • Any Canvas feature that requires or modifies a user's API access token cannot be modified through masquerading.
  • You can manually edit a user's details in your account.

    Note: If your account manages user information through a student information system (SIS), changes will also have to be made in the SIS. Any changes made in Canvas will not be passed back to the SIS.

  • Updated on: Feb 14, 2024

    How do I delete a user from an account?

    You can delete a user from your account.

    Notes:

    • This process cannot be undone and will remove the user's data (including grades) from all courses and groups.
    • If your account manages user information through a student information system (SIS), changes will also have to be made in the SIS. Any changes made in Canvas will not be passed back to the SIS.
  • Updated on: Feb 14, 2024

    How do I merge users in an account?

    You can merge two users within your account. Merging accounts combines the logins, contact methods, and enrollments for the two user accounts. After the accounts have been merged, the user can use the logins that originated from either account to view all their course enrollments within the same account.

    Note: Merging user accounts cannot be undone.

  • You can manually edit a user's details in your account.

    Note: If your account manages user information through a student information system (SIS), changes will also have to be made in the SIS. Any changes made in Canvas will not be passed back to the SIS.

  • You can add new users to your account. Users can only be added at the account level.

    If you use SIS Imports, you do not need to add any users to your account, as they can be added through your student information system (SIS).

    Account Invitations

    When a user account is manually added, Canvas gives an option to generate an account invitation. If this invitation is sent, the user is invited to complete the registration process by creating a password. Once the user has an account, the user can also be added to a course. If a user is invited to a course without having an account, the user will have to create an account before accepting the course invitation.

    When users are invited to a course manually, they can view the course invitation link in their email and click it to view a preview of the Canvas course. To officially accept, they must click an Accept button in the Canvas interface. However, if you prefer to disable course previews and have users automatically join the course when they view the Canvas course, please contact your Customer Success Manager to disable invitation previews.

    Email Addresses

    Canvas identifies users by email address. When students are added to a course, Canvas attempts to reconcile any email address conflicts when the user first logs in to the course:

    • If the user does not have a username in the course's root account, the user's email address is linked to another user within the account, or the institution does not use delegated authentication if open registration is enabled, an account will be created for the user. Adding an email address that is not already linked to an account will only work if Open Registration is enabled.
    • If the email address is already associated with an account, the student will be asked to log in to Canvas using his or her existing email address.
    • Sometimes a student may be using multiple email addresses within Canvas. If a student responds to an account invitation at one email address, but is logged in to Canvas using a different email address, the student will be asked if they want to link both addresses to the same account. 
  • You can view all users in your account in the Users page. You can manage and create account groups, manage profile pictures, and view user profiles.

    View a video about Users.