Canvas Guides (en)Recent Updates

Recent Updates

  • When a course is completed and you want to provide read-only access to the course, you may be able to conclude the course manually in Canvas. However, if your institution uses software that automatically concludes enrollments, you do not have to manually end your course since the end date of the course will automatically conclude the course on your behalf.

    When courses are manually concluded, all enrollments are removed from the course and placed in the prior enrollments page. All users in the course will have read-only access. This change applies to all enrollments, including course instructors. Instructor-based roles will no longer have the same access in the course and will result in loss of course functionality and user information, such as viewing SIS data. If full functionality is still required for instructors but you want to conclude the course for students, learn how to change the end date of your course instead.

    Once a course is concluded, if you do not want students to be able to view the course at all, you can restrict students from viewing prior courses.

    Note: Manually concluding a course is a course permission. If the Conclude this Course button does not appear in Course Settings, this setting has been restricted for your course.

  • You can add a section to your course by editing your course Settings in Canvas. Sections help subdivide students within a course and offer section-specific options such as varied due dates for assignments, discussions, and quizzes.

    Sections can also be created for students who need extra time in a course, such as if a student has an incomplete grade.

    Note: Sections may be added by your institution's student information system (SIS). Some course sections may have already been created for you.

  • You can easily edit details for each section in your course. As part of editing details, you may need to create start and end dates for your section. Dates can be shorter than the course dates or overlap the section dates. Changing the section dates creates an override for the section dates, and students can only access the section during the specified section dates.

    Note: You can only edit a section after you have opened the course where the section currently resides. Sections may be added by your institution's student information system (SIS). If a section in your course includes an SIS ID, you may not have permission to edit sections.

  • Cross-listing allows you to move section enrollments from individual courses and combine them into one course. This feature is helpful for instructors who teach several sections of the same course and only want to manage course data in one location. Instructors can allow students to view users in other sections or limit them to only view users in the same section. Section names do not change when they are cross-listed; the section is just moved to another course.

    Cross-listing should be done while courses are unpublished. Coursework is retained with the course, not with the section enrollments, so if a published course is cross-listed, all cross-listed enrollments will lose any associated assignment submissions and grades.

    To cross-list a course, you must know the name of the course or the course ID. However, using a course ID is a better way to confirm you are cross-listing a section into the correct course. You can find the course ID by opening the course and viewing the number at the end of the browser URL (e.g. account.instructure.com/courses/XXXXXX).

    Sections can only be in one course at a time. Once a section is cross-listed, you can re-cross-list the section into another course if necessary.

    This lesson shows how to manually cross-list a section, though cross-listing can also be done through SIS imports. For more information on cross-listing, view the cross-listing video.

    Notes:

    • Cross-listing a section is a course permission. If you are an instructor and cannot view the cross-list options, this feature has been restricted by your institution.
    • If you are an instructor and are allowed to cross-list, you may choose to de-cross-list a section. This option means that you can send the section back to the original course. If there is a chance you want to de-cross-list a section, make sure you add yourself to another section in the original course before cross-listing, otherwise you will no longer have access in the original course. If you have already cross-listed a course that you cannot de-cross-list, contact your Canvas admin.
  • If you cross-listed a section from a course, you may be able to cross-list the same section back into the original course. This process is called de-cross-listing and returns all student enrollments back to the original course section. However, once you de-cross-list enrollments, all grades and student submissions are removed from the course (since the course can no longer associate the information with any course enrollments). If you need to retain student grades and put them in the original course, you should export the Gradebook and import it into the original course before de-cross-listing the section.

    Note: If you cannot view the De-Cross-List this Section button, you no longer have an enrollment in the original course. For assistance in de-cross-listing a section, please contact your Canvas admin.

  • The first few times you create a new course in Canvas, it's a challenge to remember all of the steps required. The Course Setup Checklist exists to help you remember to cover all your bases before the course goes live.