How do I view Collaborations as a student?
If you've been invited to join a collaboration, you can access the collaboration from Canvas. Collaboration files can also be viewed your online account for the collaboration type (OneDrive or Google Drive, respectively).
If your institution grants permission, you can create collaborations in the course. Your instructor can always view any collaboration you create, though other students can only view collaborations that have been shared with them. If your instructor has added you to a course group, you can always create collaborations within a group.
You can choose to receive notifications about collaborations in your Canvas notification settings.
Note: Depending on your institution's preference, your Collaborations page may not match the images shown in this lesson. However, functionality of the page remains the same.
The Google Apps LTI will no longer be supported starting June 30, 2024. Learn how to create collaborations using the Google Assignments LTI 1.3.
The Collaborations page displays all collaborations where you have been invited to participate. For each collaboration, you can view the name of the collaboration , the description , the person who created the collaboration , and the date and time the collaboration was created .
If you have permission, your institution may allow you to create collaborations in your course.
To create a new collaboration, click the Start a new collaboration button.
If your collaborations page does not match the image shown in this lesson, you can still create a Google Docs collaboration.
Note: The Google Apps LTI will no longer be supported starting June 30, 2024. Learn how to create collaborations using the Google Assignments LTI 1.3.
To open a collaboration, click the name of the collaboration.
Note: The collaboration will open in a new tab. You may be asked to sign in to view the file.