How do I edit or delete discussion replies as a student?
If your instructor allows, you can edit and delete your own discussion posts. If the edit or delete option does not appear, your instructor has restricted this setting in your course.
- This setting does not affect discussions in course groups.
- When a discussion is closed for comments students cannot edit or delete their replies.
In Course Navigation, click the Discussions link.
Open Options Icon
Each of your posts have a settings icon with edit and delete options. Click the Options icon on the post you want to modify.
Edit Discussion Reply
Locate the student reply you want to edit and click the Options menu . Then select the Edit option .
Edit the discussion reply in the Rich Content Editor . To post your edits, click the Done button .
Canvas displays an Edited by label on the edited post. The label displays your name and the date and time the post was edited. This label cannot be removed.
To delete your reply to a discussion topic, click the reply Options icon , then select the Delete option .
Click the OK button.
If you delete a discussion reply with other course user replies attached, Canvas shows a Deleted by notification. The notification includes your name and the date and time the post was deleted. This entry cannot be removed.
However, if you delete a reply that does not have any course user replies attached, Canvas does display a Deleted by notification.
Note: Course instructors can see that you deleted your replies in the discussion.
View Restricted Options
If your instructor has restricted the option to edit or delete your discussion replies, the options are disabled.
Note: If the ability for students to edit or delete their own posts is restricted in a course with Discussions Redesign enabled, the Edit and Delete options do not display in the Options menu.