Canvas Guides (English)CatalogCatalog Guide All UsersHow do I drop a Canvas Network or Catalog course or program?

How do I drop a Canvas Network or Catalog course or program?

Catalog users (including users of Canvas Network) can drop courses or programs from the Student Dashboard. If a course is set to only allow users to participate during a specified date range, Catalog users will only be able to drop the course during the time period between the course start and end dates. Otherwise, users can drop the course at any time.  If your course or enrollment status has concluded, you can no longer drop the course. Catalog users can also drop programs as well.

Courses can only be dropped if you enrolled in the course directly through your institution's Catalog. If you were manually added to the course by an instructor or admin, you will have to ask the instructor or admin to remove you from the course.

Open Student Dashboard

Open Student Dashboard

Click the User Menu link [1]. Then click the Student Dashboard option [2]

Open Current, Completed, or Not Completed Lists

Open Current, Completed, or Not Completed Lists

In the Student Dashboard, you can view your current, completed, and not completed listings.

To drop a listing that is currently in-progress, click the In Progress tab [1].

To drop a completed listing, click the Completed tab [2].

To drop a listing that you did not complete, click the Not Completed tab [3].

Drop Course or Program

Drop Course or Program

Locate the course or program and click the Settings icon [1]. Click the Drop Course or Program link [2].

Confirm Drop

Confirm Drop

Catalog will confirm you want to drop the course or program. Click the Drop button.