Canvas Guides (English)Canvas GuidesCanvas Student Guide Discussions RedesignHow do I edit or delete discussion replies in Discussions Redesign as a student?

How do I edit or delete discussion replies in Discussions Redesign as a student?

If your instructor allows, you can edit and delete your own discussion posts. If the edit or delete option does not display, your instructor has restricted this setting in your course.

Note: This setting does not affect discussions in course groups.

Open Discussions

Open Discussions

In Course Navigation, click the Discussions link.

Open Discussion

Open Discussion

Click a discussion title.

Edit Discussion Reply

Edit Discussion Reply

Locate the reply you want to edit and click the Options icon [1]. Then select the Edit option [2].

Save Edits

Save Edits

Edit the discussion reply in the Rich Content Editor [1]. To post your edits, click the Save button [2].

Delete Reply

Delete Post

To delete your reply to a discussion topic, click the reply Options icon [1], then select the Delete option [2].

Confirm Delete

Confirm Delete

Click the OK button.

Verify Delete

Verify Delete

If you delete a discussion reply with other course user replies attached, Canvas shows a Deleted by notification. The notification includes your name. This entry cannot be removed.

Note: Course instructors can see that you deleted your replies in the discussion.

View Restricted Options

View Restricted Setting

If your instructor has restricted the option to edit or delete your discussion replies, the options do not display in the Options menu.