How do I view or edit a Scheduler appointment group in the Scheduler page?
If you've previously created an appointment group in the Scheduler, you can view and edit existing appointment groups. You can also view and edit individual time slots in an appointment group, including users who have signed up for each time slot.
- The Scheduler tool is optional. If it is not already enabled for your account, please contact your Canvas administrator.
- Currently, Scheduler has two options for viewing appointments. This lesson is for instructor with the Scheduler button as a calendar view. If your calendar does not display the Scheduler button as shown in this lesson, you can only view or edit appointment groups in the calendar.
In Global Navigation, click the Calendar link.
Click the Scheduler button.
The Scheduler page shows all appointment groups created for your courses.
For each appointment group, you can view the name of the group , the course(s) associated with the appointment group , assignment group location , and group description .
You can also view the number of users who have signed up . If an appointment group is for a group, the user signup will show the number of groups that have signed up.
To add a new appointment group for a course, click the Create an Appointment Group button .
View Group Status
You can also view the status of the appointment group. Groups with a white background have been published . Unpublished groups include an unpublished label and are shown with a gray background .
View Appointment Slots
To view individual appointment slots in an appointment group, click the name of the group.
View Appointment Availability
View the slots in your appointment group. If a time slot does not limit the number of users who can sign up, the slot shows as available . However, if a time slot does limit the number of signups, the remaining number of available slots displays in the time slot . If a time slot has been filled, the time slot shows as being filled .
Manage Appointment Slot
The appointment details window allows you to manage time slots individually.
To view details about a time slot, including who signed up in the time slot, click the appointment link .
If you want to edit a specific time slot, click the Edit button . Editing a time slot allows you to edit the description of the appointment. You can also limit the slot to a specific number of users. Changing either of these values in an individual time slot does not affect the description or user signup limit for the entire group. For instance, if the assignment group limited each slot to one user, and you individually edit a specific time slot to allow three users, only that time slot is affected by the user limit change.
If you need to remove students from a time slot, click the Delete button .
In time slots that have been reserved, you can send a message to the user(s) in the time slot .
Manage Appointment Groups
To modify an appointment, click the Settings icon . You can edit the appointment group , message students who haven't signed up for a time slot , or delete the appointment group .
Message Students Who
When sending a message to students, by default the message is set to send to users who have not signed up yet. The names of the affected users display automatically. In the drop-down menu , you can also choose to message all users or users who have already signed up.
When messaging students, messages are sent as a group message. However, if your message includes over 100 recipients (including you as the sender), messages will automatically be sent as individual messages.
In the Message field , enter the message for the selected users. Click the Send button .
Edit Appointment Group
When editing an appointment group, you can view all details for the group as a whole. You can change all group information except the assigned calendar and all existing time slots. However, you can new additional time slots to the entire group. If you want to edit or delete individual time slots, you can modify the appointment group in the appointment group details page.
Click the Save Changes button.
If your assignment group is unpublished, you can save your changes by clicking the Save button, or publish the group by clicking the Save & Publish button.
Delete Appointment Group
If you need to delete an appointment group, deleting the group will also delete any appointments that have been reserved by students. In the text field , you can let students know why you have to delete the appointment group. Click the Delete button .
Return to Scheduler
To return to the list of appointment groups, click the Done, Go Back to List button.