Canvas Guides (English)StudioStudio Guide Studio AdminsHow do I create custom sharing groups in my Canvas Studio account as an admin?

How do I create custom sharing groups in my Canvas Studio account as an admin?

As an admin, you can create custom media sharing groups in your Studio account. You can also view all media groups created by other users at your institution.

Users assigned within the same Studio group can share media files to all group members. They can also manage all group members' access to media files, including editing and sharing media files.  Learn more about sharing media to a group in Canvas Studio.

Depending upon how you configure your group roles, group members may also be able to edit group details, add or remove individuals in a group, and grant manager permissions to other group members.

When you create a group in your account, Studio automatically assigns you to the group as a group manager. You can delete any group you created, as well as any group created at your institution. If  you remove yourself from a group, the group no longer displays on your My Groups page and you can no longer access the group or any media shared to you via the group. However, you can still view the group via the Other Groups page.

Note: Creating groups is a user permission. Learn about managing Canvas Studio user role permissions. By default, this permission is turned ON for instructors and OFF for students.

Open Studio Settings

Open Studio Settings

In Canvas Studio, click the Navigation Menu icon [1], then click the Settings link [2].

Open Groups

Open Groups

Click the Groups tab.

Create Group

Create Group

Click the Create Group button [1].

Note: Studio displays a notification if you are not already a member of a group [2].

Enter Group Name

Enter Group Name

In the Create Group screen, enter a name for the group in the Group Name field.

Add Group Members

Add Group Members

To add a person to the group, enter the person's name in the Add People field [1]. In the search results list, click the name.

View Group Member List

Notification Center

Group members display in the Group Members list [1]. You can also view each member's group user role [2].

Note: When you create a group, you are automatically added to the group as a group manager [3].

View Group Member Roles

View Group Member Roles

Studio group users may have one of two group roles.

By default, group members are added with the Member role [1]. Members can share Studio media content with other members in the group.

Alternatively, group members may be assigned the Manager role [2]. Managers can share content with other group members, add and remove group members, and assign others as group managers.

To change a group member's user role, locate the user in the list and click the Role drop-down menu [3]. Click to select a user role [4].

Remove Group Member

Remove Group Member

To remove a group member from the list, locate the user in the list and click the Role drop-down menu [1]. Then click the Remove from Group option [2].

Save Group

Save Group

Click the Save button.

View Group

View Group

In your Groups page, view the group.

Learn about viewing and managing groups.