Canvas Guides (English)StudioStudio Guide Instructors and StudioHow do I view and manage my Canvas Studio groups as an instructor?

How do I view and manage my Canvas Studio groups as an instructor?

As an instructor, you can view a list of all your Studio groups in your Studio Settings Groups page. Depending upon your role in each group, you may be able to view the group member list, edit a group name, add or remove group members, adjust group member roles, leave a group, and delete groups.

Open Studio Settings

Open Studio Settings

In Canvas Studio, click the Navigation Menu icon [1], then click the Studio Settings link [2].

Open Groups

Open Groups

Click the Groups tab.

View Groups

View Groups

In Groups, you can search for a group, create a group, and view a list of all your groups.

To locate a specific group, enter the group name or group ID in the Search field [1]. The Search function returns matches from your Groups List.

To create a new group, click the Create Group button [2]. Learn more about creating Studio groups.

You can view a list of all your groups in the Groups List. The list displays the following information:

  • Group Name [3]: the name of each group; by default, groups display in alphabetical order.
  • Group ID Number [4]: the ID number automatically assigned to a group upon creation.
  • Permission [5]: your role within the group. Group roles include Member and Manager.  
  • Number of Members [6]: the total number of people in the group, including yourself.

To view additional groups, use the page navigation icons [7].  Up to ten groups display per page.

To sort the displayed list by name, ID, permission, or member count, click the list column header [8]. You can sort in ascending or descending order.

Note: The Groups List displays only groups in which you are a member. If you leave a group, even one you created, it no longer displays in your Groups List.

View Group Options

View Group Options

To view your group management options, locate the group in the list and click the Options icon [1]. Your group permission status determines the displayed management options.

Managers can edit, leave, and delete the group [2]. Additionally, all Studio Admins can manage groups. 

Members can view the group list and leave the group [3].

Edit Group

Edit Group

To view and edit details for a group, click the group name link [1].

Alternatively, locate the group in the list and click the group's Options icon [2]. Then select the Edit option [3].

Edit Group Details

Edit Group Details

In the Edit Group window, you can view the group ID [1], view and edit the group name [2], add members [3], view the group members list [4], and manage group member roles [5].

To change a group member's role, locate the group member and click the Role drop-down menu [6]. Then select the role [7], or remove the member from the group [8].

To delete the group, click the Delete icon [9].

To save any changes made to the group, click the Save icon [10].

To close the Edit Group window, click the Cancel button [11] or the X icon [12].

View Admin Member Notification

View Admin Member Notification

If a group member is also a Studio admin, they can view and edit any group in the Studio account, even if they are added to the group with Member permissions. Next to the admin's Role drop-down menu, an Admin icon displays.

View Group

View Group

To view a group, locate the group in the list and click the group's Options icon [1]. Then select the View option [2].

View Group List

View Group List

The Group window displays the group ID [1] and the list of group members [2].

You can also manage your group membership. To leave the group, click the Role drop-down menu [3], then select the Leave Group option [4].

To close the Group window, click the Close button [5] or the icon [6].

Leave Group

Leave Group

To leave a group, locate the group in the list and click the group's Options icon [1]. Then select the Leave Group option [2].

Confirm Leave

Confirm Leave

Click the Leave Group button.

Note: When you leave a group, the group no longer displays in your Groups List and you can no longer view the group in your Studio account. However, Studio admins can view all groups in your institution's Studio account. If you need to manage or monitor a group that does not display in your Groups List, contact your Studio administrator.

Delete Group

Delete Group

To delete a group, locate the group in the list and click the group's Options icon [1]. Then select the Delete option [2].

Confirm Delete

Confirm Delete

Click the Delete button.

Note: Deleting a group removes all members from the group and revokes access to any group-shared media. Please notify group members before deleting an active Studio group.