Canvas Guides (English)StudioStudio Guide Students and StudioHow do I manage a Canvas Studio group as a student?

How do I manage a Canvas Studio group as a student?

If you are assigned to a group as the group manager, you can make changes to the group in the Studio Settings Groups page. As a group manager, you can edit the group name, add or remove individuals in a group, and grant manager permissions to other group members.

Note: Group members can manage their membership in a group. Learn more about viewing Studio groups.

Open Studio Settings

Open Studio Settings

In Canvas Studio, click the Navigation Menu icon [1], then click the Studio Settings link [2].

Open Groups

Open Groups

Click the Groups tab.

View Group Permissions

View Group Permissions

You can view your group role in the Groups List. If you are a group manager, the Permission column displays the Manager label. As a group manager, you can edit the group, leave the group, and delete the group.

Edit Group

Edit Group

To view and edit details for a group, click the group name link [1].

Alternatively, locate the group in the list and click the group's Options icon [2]. Then select the Edit option [3].

Edit Group Details

Edit Group Details

In the Edit Group window, you can view the group ID [1], view and edit the group name [2], add members [3], view the group members list [4], and manage group member roles [5].

To change a group member's role, locate the group member and click the Role drop-down menu [6]. Then select the role [7], or remove the member from the group [8].

To delete the group, click the Delete icon [9].

To save any changes made to the group, click the Save icon [10].

To close the Edit Group window, click the Cancel button [11] or the X icon [12].

View Admin Member Notification

View Admin Member Notification

If a group member is also a Studio admin, they can view and edit any group in the Studio account, even if they are added to the group with Member permissions. Next to the admin's Role drop-down menu, an Admin icon displays.

Leave Group

Leave Group

To leave a group, locate the group in the list and click the group's Options icon [1]. Then select the Leave Group option [2].

Confirm Leave

Confirm Leave

Click the Leave Group button.

Note: When you leave a group, the group no longer displays in your Groups List and you can no longer view the group in your Studio account. However, Studio admins can view all groups in your institution's Studio account. If you need to manage or monitor a group that does not display in your Groups List, contact your Studio administrator.

Delete Group

Delete Group

To delete a group, locate the group in the list and click the group's Options icon [1]. Then select the Delete option [2].

Confirm Delete

Confirm Delete

Click the Delete button.

Note: Deleting a group removes all members from the group and revokes access to any group-shared media. Please notify group members before deleting an active Studio group.