How do I share media with a user in Canvas Studio?
You can share a video or audio file with any user in your institution's account and allow them view or edit rights. Users can view shared media in the Shared with Me drop-down link. You can change or remove sharing permissions for media at any time.
If you allow a user to view a video or audio file, the user can view the media, have access to the sharing settings embed code and public link, share the media with others, remove themselves from having access to view the media, the details, and comments.
If you allow a user to edit a video or audio file, the user has all permissions allowed as if that user had originally uploaded the media file, including deleting the media, editing details and options, and viewing analytic insights.
This lesson shows you how to share media directly from the My Uploads page. However, when you own media or a user has shared media with you, sharing options are also available when viewing a video.
- Currently, you cannot share media with a user until Canvas Studio verifies the user's account in a course enrollment. Verifications are made when the user views embedded Studio media in a Canvas course. Additionally, you can only share media with users in your Canvas courses.
- Any quizzes added to a video will not be included when the video is shared.
On the My Uploads page, locate the media, click the Options icon , and then click the Share Media link .
Click the People tab.
In the Name or Email field , enter the name or email of a user in your institution's account. When the user appears, click the user's name .
If you want to share the video or audio file with another user, you can repeat this process and select as many users as necessary.
By default, a user can leave comments on your media. However, you can change this permission if necessary.
To change the permission for a user, click the user's permission drop-down menu.
Select the new permission for the user. You can choose to give the user access to view or edit the video or audio file.
To remove a user from the shared list, click the Remove icon. You can remove sharing for any user at any time.
Click the Update button.