Canvas Guides (English)Canvas GuidesCanvas Admin Guide PeopleHow do I suspend and reactivate users in an account?

How do I suspend and reactivate users in an account?

You can suspend and reactivate a user's profile. Suspending a user allows you to remove the user's login access to authorized systems. Reactivating a user allows the user to log into Canvas and regain access to previously authorized API integrations.

Note: User suspension and reactivation is also supported in the SIS Export report.

Open Account

Open Account

In Global Navigation, click the Admin link [1], then click the name of the account [2].

Open People

Open People

In Account Navigation, click the People link.

Find User

Find User

Use the filter and search options to find the user in the account.

Open User Profile

Open User Profile

In the search results, click the user's name.

Suspend User

Suspend User

Click the Suspend User link.

Confirm Suspension

Confirm Suspension

To suspend a user and remove all of their login access to authorized systems, click the Suspend button.

Reactivate User

Reactivate User

To allow a user to login again, click the Reactivate User link.

Confirm Reactivation

Click the Reactivate button.