How do I use the Terms page in an account?
Terms create a default set of participation start and end dates that apply to any course added to that term. Terms can be added manually or created through SIS imports. Once a user is added to a course, terms set default dates for when users can participate in courses assigned to that term. User participation is limited to published courses.
Canvas always includes a default term, which cannot be removed or renamed.
- Not all courses within a term conform to the term dates, as course or section start dates may override the term dates. Course or section overrides may be before or after the start of the term.
- Only admins can view the Terms page in Canvas. Instructors and students cannot view the Terms page, so please ensure users in your institution are aware of term dates for your institution publicly.
- Terms in consortium accounts are inherited from the parent account. Child consortium accounts cannot view or change terms.
In Global Navigation, click the Admin link , then click the name of the account .
In Account Navigation, click the Terms link.
The Terms page displays all terms that have been created in your account. Terms can be created manually or via SIS Import.
View Term Details
For each term, you can view all the details created in that term.
You can view the name of the term , the term SIS ID (if applicable) , the grading period set associated with the term (if applicable) , and the number of courses within the term .
You can also view the term dates  and specific user role access dates .
To edit a term, click the Edit icon . To delete a term, click the Delete icon .
Note: You cannot delete a term that contains courses.
To add a new term, click the Add New Term link.