Canvas Guides (en)Canvas GuidesCanvas Admin Guide PeopleHow do I split merged users in an account?

How do I split merged users in an account?

If user accounts have been merged previously, you can split them using the Split Merged Users option on the account-level Users page.

You can split previously merged users within 180 days of the user merge. However, merged users cannot be fully restored to their previous state. If the Split Merged Users option does display, the 180-day limit has expired and the user can no longer be split from the previous merge. Users can also be split using the Canvas Users API.

Open Account

Open Account

In Global Navigation, click the Admin link [1], then click the name of the account [2].

Open People

Open People

In Account Navigation, click the People link.

Find User

Find User

Use the filter and search options to find the user in the account.

Open User Profile

Open User Profile

In the search results, click the user's name.

Split Merged Users

Click the Split Merged Users link.

Note: If the Split Merged Users option does not displayed, the 180-day limit has expired and the user can no longer be split from the previous merge.

Split Merged User Accounts

Click the Split button.

Note: You can split previously merged users within 180 days of the user merge. However, merged users cannot be fully restored to their previous state.

View Confirmation

View Confirmation

To view the split user accounts, click the user's name [1]. To return to the user's profile, click the OK button [2].