Canvas Guides (en)Canvas GuidesCanvas Instructor Guide ModulesHow do I send a module item to another instructor?

How do I send a module item to another instructor?

As an instructor, you can send a module item in your course to other instructors at your institution. You can also copy a module item into another course as well as send an entire course module to other instructors.

When you share a module item, any assets within that module item (images, files, etc.) will be included in the shared file. Module item settings are also included in the shared module item.

The following module item types can be sent to another instructor: assignments, quizzes, pages, and discussions. Other module item types cannot be sent individually. However, if an entire module is sent to another instructor, all module item types in the module will be included.

Notes:

  • To share course content, you must have the Course Content - add / edit / delete permission enabled.
  • Shared content does not count against course or user quotas.

Open Modules

Open Modules

In Course Navigation, click the Modules link.

Open Module Item Options

Open Module Item Options

To send an assignment, quiz, page, or discussion module item, click the module item's Options icon [1]. Select the Send To... option [2].

Note: File, text header, external URL, and external tool module item types cannot be sent individually to another instructor. However, when entire modules are sent to another instructor, they are included.

Select Recipient

Select Recipient

To send the module item to another instructor, click or type in the Send to field [1]. Then click the name of the instructor to receive your module item [2].

Note: You can send the module item to multiple instructors at one time.

View Recipients

View Recipients

You can view all selected recipients in the Send to field [1]. To remove a recipient, click the Remove icon [2].

Send Module Item

Send Module Item

Click the Send button.

View Sent Notification

View Sent Notification

Canvas displays a notification when content sends successfully.

View Shared Content

View Shared Content

When an instructor receives shared content, a badge displays on the user's Account icon [1] and in the Shared Content link [2].

Learn how to manage received content.