Canvas Guides (English)Canvas GuidesCanvas Instructor GuideCollaborationsHow do I create a Google Assignments LTI 1.3 collaboration as an instructor?

How do I create a Google Assignments LTI 1.3 collaboration as an instructor?

You can use the Google Assignments LTI 1.3 to create a collaboration with a Google Document, Spreadsheet, Presentation, or other Workspace files.

Google Docs allows you to add up to 50 users per collaboration, and all users can view and edit a document at the same time. However, a Google file may be shared with up to 200 email addresses including viewers, commenters, and editors.

Notes:

  • Google Assignments LTI 1.3 collaborations are separate from Google Drive collaborations and Google Docs collaborations. If you cannot create a ¬†Google Assignments LTI 1.3 collaboration, this feature has not been enabled for the course.
  • Once you invite a user to a collaboration, the collaboration is available to the user in the user's Google Drive. Uninviting the user or deleting the collaboration does not remove access to the collaboration once a user has been added.
  • When creating a collaboration you cannot link to a previously created collaboration.
  • Once you have created a Google Assignments LTI 1.3 collaboration, only users invited to participate in the collaboration may access and edit the document. The document's share settings cannot be modified from within the Drive document. The only way to add a collaborator is by adding them to the collaboration in Canvas.

Open Collaborations

Open Collaborations

In Course Navigation, click the Collaborations link.

Start a New Collaboration

Start a New Collaboration

Click the Add Collaboration button.

Sign in to Google

Sign in to Google

If you have not previously authorized Google Drive access in Canvas, you may be prompted to sign in. Click the Sign in button.

Select Google Account

Select your Google account.

Add Details

Add Details

To add a title for the collaboration, enter a title in the Title field [1].

In the File type drop-down menu, select the type of collaboration you want to create. You can create docs, slides, sheets, forms, drawings, or sites.

To add a description for the collaboration, enter text in the Description field [3].

Invite Collaborators

Invite Collaborators

Click the checkbox next to the name of a user you want to add to the collaboration [1]. To select or deselect all users, click the Collaborators Selected checkbox [2].

Add as many users as necessary.

Note: Collaborators must have Google account and will need to authorize Canvas before they can view the collaboration.

Create Collaboration

Create Collaboration

Click the Create button.

View Collaboration

View Collaboration

View your collaboration. To edit the collaboration, click the Edit icon [1]. To delete the collaboration, click the Delete icon [2].