Canvas Guides (en)Canvas Instructor Guide SpeedGraderHow do I enable anonymous grading to hide student names in SpeedGrader?

How do I enable anonymous grading to hide student names in SpeedGrader?

If you want to grade assignments without knowing who submitted them, you can hide student names in SpeedGrader for anonymous grading. This option can be enabled on a per-assignment basis. However, if the checkbox to hide student names is already selected and grayed out, Anonymous Grading has been enabled for the entire course as shown in the Feature Options tab in Course Settings. Enabling the feature option enables anonymous grading for every assignment in the course.

When a grader accesses a SpeedGrader link, the first student displayed in the student list is always randomly generated for every assignment. Additionally, each assignment includes a random ID that cannot be traced back to any specific student.

Note:

  • Hiding student names through anonymous grading is currently a course feature option. Learn how to manage feature options in the course features lesson. However, if the feature option cannot be disabled, your institution has required this feature in your course.
  • If the Anonymous Grading feature option is enabled, anonymity can be removed from each submission by editing the assignment and changing the anonymous options to allow graders to view student names.
  • Hiding names in SpeedGrader does not affect names in the Gradebook and must be done separately. Learn how to hide student names in the Gradebook.

Open SpeedGrader

Open SpeedGrader

Open SpeedGrader from any assignment, graded discussion, or quiz.

Open SpeedGrader Options

Open SpeedGrader Options

Click the Settings icon [1]. In the settings drop-down menu, select the Options link [2].

Hide Student Names

Hide Student Names

To hide the student names, click the checkbox next to Hide student names in the SpeedGrader.

Hide Student Names Disabled

Note: If this checkbox is already selected and grayed out, Anonymous Grading has been enabled for the entire course as shown in the Feature Options tab in Course Settings.

Save Settings

Save Settings

Click the Save Settings button.

View Student Names

View Student Names

View the student drop-down menu and verify that all student names are hidden.